AmericanHort Announces New 2024-2025 Board Members and Executive Officers

AmericanHort is pleased to announce the addition of three new industry leaders to its board of directors, along with a new slate of board officers for the coming year. “We are honored to welcome these respected industry professionals to the AmericanHort board, where their knowledge and experience will greatly benefit our mission,” says Ken Fisher, President & CEO of AmericanHort. “The board plays a pivotal role in shaping our organization’s direction, and we thank those who commit their time to advancing the field of horticulture.” The new slate of officers for 2024-2025 includes Ed Overdevest of Overdevest Nurseries LP as the incoming board chair and Kent Fullmer of Fullmer’s Landscaping as the incoming board vice chair. Rob Lando of AgriNomix will become the immediate past chair and J. Harvey Cotten will continue to serve as board treasurer in a non-voting position. 

Ed Overdevest - new 2024-2025 board chair of AmericanHort

Ed Overdevest

Ed Overdevest is the President and owner of Overdevest Nurseries, one of the leading nurseries in New Jersey where they sell to independent garden centers and distributors within a 300-mile radius of Bridgeton. With production facilities encompassing 290 acres, the nursery produces over 2,000 varieties of perennials, shrubs, and trees for east coast garden centers. The company has earned a sustainability certification due to its exemplary practices in conservation and is known for its strong labor relations and community involvement. 

Kent Fullmer - new 2024-2025 board vice chair of AmericanHort

Kent Fullmer

Kent Fullmer is President at Fullmer’s Landscaping, Inc. a residential landscape design and build company. Kent leads the second-generation company with passion and integrity. He brings high energy to the art of landscaping with the goal of providing positive personal experiences to his clients. Kent has considerable experience working across the industry, as he has served on the board of directors of the Ohio Nursery and Landscape Association, is currently serving on the AmericanHort Landscape Connector Committee, and is a certified arborist as well as a member of the International Society of Arboriculture. 

Highlights From Greenhouse Grower’s May 2024 Issue

The AmericanHort membership has elected the following new board directors: 

Ken Altman - new 2024-2025 board member of AmericanHort

Ken Altman

Ken Altman is the Co-President of Altman Specialty Plants, a leading U.S. breeder and grower of horticultural plants with international reach. The family-owned company operates production nurseries and distribution facilities nationwide, covering over 38 million square feet of greenhouse space and 4,000 acres of outdoor space. Under Ken’s leadership, the company has championed sustainability through water recycling systems, a floating solar array for power generation, and a growing fleet of electric tractors and autonomous pull vehicles. Ken is a past President of the San Diego Farm Bureau and was named its 2022 Farmer of the Year. 

Tom Fessler - new 2024-2025 board member of AmericanHort

Tom Fessler

Tom Fessler is the President and co-owner of Woodburn Nursery & Azaleas Inc., oversees a diverse operation renowned for florist azaleas, annuals, and containerized nursery stock. Founded by his parents in 1968, Tom, along with his four siblings, manages the operation today. The nursery spans 675 acres, including 125 acres of greenhouses and 550 acres of gravel can yards and pot-in-pot operations. He has actively contributed to the Oregon Association of Nurseries, serving from the local chapter board to the state board of directors and as President. He also served on the Oregon State Board of Agriculture for eight years. 

Christine Fortman - new 2024-25 board member of AmericanHort

Christine Fortman

Christine Fortman‘s corporate, non-profit, and political experience serves her well as a third-generation owner of her family’s Arizona retail nursery, Berridge Nurseries, Inc. Since joining the business over a decade ago, Christine has contributed significantly to the industry. She has served as past President of the Arizona Nursery Association (ANA) and the Independent Nurseries of Arizona and is currently a board member of ANA’s charitable arm, ANAFund. A University of Colorado at Boulder graduate, Christine participated in the inaugural Horticultural Research Institute (HRI) Leadership Academy class. She actively engages with school garden coordinators and has established two ANAFund scholarships for horticulture students. 

These new directors will join current board directors Derek Clark of South Central Growers( TN); Kurt Becker of Dramm Corporation (WI); Matt Edmundson of Arbor Valley Nursery (CO); Brian Lloyd of Olsen’s Greenhouses (UT); Emily Showalter of Willoway Nurseries (OH); and Ann Tosovsky of Home Nursery Inc. (IL). 

AmericanHort and its members express appreciation to outgoing board members Steve Mostardi of Mostardi Nurseries (PA) and Lyndsi Oestmann of Loma Vista Nursery (KS), who each served a three-year term from 2021 to 2024; and Jon Reelhorn of Belmont Nursery (CA), who served on the board from 2018 to 2024 and was board chairman during his tenure. The new board will be installed during the annual AmericanHort business meeting held at Cultivate’24 on Sunday, July 14, at 8 a.m. in the Short North Ballroom of the Greater Columbus Convention Center.

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top