The MFA in the School of Art at Arizona State University is designed to advance discourse across a range of fields and establish intersections between disciplines that are oriented around shared research interests. Students are encouraged to take advantage of the vast resources afforded by a Research 1 university, engaging with world-renowned researchers or taking courses across ASU.

Graduate students are provided individual studio space at Grant Street Studios, located in the cultural hub of downtown Phoenix. Students also have access to the vibrant community of museums, galleries, businesses, and cultural organizations in Phoenix as well as in nearby cities such as Los Angeles, Santa Fe, and Denver. 

The MFA program culminates in a solo thesis exhibition in one of our three galleries. In addition to being one of few tuition-funded three-year MFA programs nationally, students also benefit from various funding opportunities, including teaching assistantships as well as scholarships and awards. Special initiatives add opportunities for professionalization, collaboration, and immersive learning essential to contemporary practice.

Current MFA Faculty
Julie Anand · Susan Beiner · Andrea Benge · Margarita Cabrera · Sam Chung · Liz Cohen · Dan Collins · Jennifer Ling Datchuk · Angela Ellsworth · Heather Green · Cecilia Fajardo-Hill · Erika Lynne Hanson · Hilary Harp · Meredith Hoy · Mary Hood · Adriene Jenik · Sujin Kim · Shawn Lawson · Alex Lee · Muriel Magenta · Cristóbal Martinez · Ellen Meissinger · Wanesia Misquadace · Mary Neubauer · Juan Obando · Katie Parker · Anthony Pessler · Mark Pomilio · Sandro Del Rosario · Gregory Sale · Stephen Marc · Forrest Solis · Mark Tan · Benjamin Timpson

Virtual Information Session
December 1, 2023, at 4pm (MST). Register to attend.

MFA Application deadline: January 15, 2024

To learn more, visit

Follow ASU MFA on Instagram @asu_mfa.